Logo

Aviosonic Space Tech

DeCAS Mission II - ION

Space Debris Footprint Computation on Board

Successufully Launched on September 2, at 03:51 a.m.

Mission in progress, first test phase started

Follow the live feed of the launch on

Aviosonic and D-Orbit cooperation for the second time

Decas Mission II will take place is part of ION mission as Space debris risk mitigation.

MISSION SERVICES PACKAGE

ION satellite will test DeCAS performance both during in orbit phase, by a simulation, and for the last part of the mission.

Liftoff successfully occured on September 1/2 at exaclty:

  • 09:51:10 p.m., Washington, D.C. time, on September 1
  • 10:51:10 p.m., Kourou, French Guiana time, on September 1
  • 01:51:10, Universal Time (UTC), on September 2,
  • 03:51:10 a.m., Paris and Rome time, on September 2,

MISSION IN PROGRESS - FIRST TEST PHASE STARTED

MISSION OBJECTIVES

  • In orbit system demonstration
  • Broadcasting Footprint Area
  • Reentry simulation calculation

MISSION DURATION

  • The nominal duration of the mission (from liftoff to separation of the 53 satellites) is: 1 Hour, 44 minutes and 56 seconds

TARGETED ORBIT FOR THE 7 MICROSATELLITES

  • Sun-synchronous orbit
  • Altitude at separation (approximative): 515 km
  • inclination: 97.45 degrees

TARGETED ORBIT FOR THE 46 NANOSATELLITES

  • Sun-synchronous orbit
  • Altitude at separation (approximative): 530 km
  • inclination: 97.51 degrees

Aviosonic ION Educational Project

Take a look to Aviosonic initiative for schools.